Sergio Mendes Discography
Celebration: A Musical Journey
Release Date: April 5, 2011
Label: Emarcy/Verve
BUY NOW: Amazon
Disc 1
  1. Outra Vez
  2. Garota De Ipanema
  3. So Danco Samba
  4. Mas Que Nada
  5. Going Out Of My Head
  6. Constant Rain
  7. Night And Day
  8. The Look Of Love
  9. So Many Stars
  10. The Fool On The Hill
  11. Scarborough Fair
  12. (Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay
  13. Pretty World
  14. Wichita Lineman
  15. Norwegian Wood
  16. Masquerade
  17. What The World Needs Now Is Love
  18. Pais Tropical
  19. Viramundo
  20. After Sunrise
  21. Promesa De Pescador
Disc 2
  1. Never Gonna Let You Go
  2. My Summer Love
  3. The Sound Of One Song
  4. Kisses Daylight
  5. Sarara (Bring Me The Sunlight)
  6. Cinnamon & Clove
  7. Rio de Janeiro
  8. Holografico Olodum
  9. Mas Que Nada
  10. The Frog
  11. Waters Of March
  12. Y Vamos Ya
  13. So Tinha De Ser Com Voce
  14. Magalenha
  15. The Fool On The Hill
  16. Chove Chuva
More Info:


Whether economically or culturally, Brazil is hot! For Sergio Mendes, Brazil’s most popular musical export, the time has arrived for his music to be featured in a major motion 3-D animated picture and his first career retrospective. Marking the 50th anniversary of his debut album, the two-CD Celebration: A Musical Journey (Emarcy/Verve), released in 2011, brings together more than three dozen selections spanning the entire career of the master of the bossa nova beat. The collection ranges from the classic “The Look Of Love” to recent collaborations with and The Black Eyed Peas (“Mas Que Nada” is featured on the soundtrack to the 3-D animation feature RIO) to new recordings guesting Siedah Garrett and Ivete Sangalo.

Celebration: A Musical Journey’s earliest tracks were culled from 1961’s Dance Moderno and groups Bossa Rio and the Sergio Mendes Trio. But it was Sergio Mendes and Brasil ’66 which sparked global stardom. Performing “The Look Of Love” at the 1968 Oscars, their version went Top 10, quickly followed by the hits “The Fool On The Hill” and “Scarborough Fair.” Enjoying immense popularity, Mendes added soul and funk to his jazz and pop, but always with a Brazilian rhythm. In the ’80s, he scored with the Adult Contemporary #1 and pop Top 10 “Never Gonna Let You Go” and in 1992 won a Grammy for Brasileiro. From the 60s to now, Mendes and his cool factor is ever present.

In 2006, his CD, Timeless, spotlighted hip-hop artists, including The Black Eyed Peas with a re-recording of early gem “Mas Que Nada” alongside Gracinha Leporace, Mendes’ wife. 2008’s Encanto found neo-soulster Ledisi and Spanish-language favorite Juanes as guests. Adding new recordings with Sangalo and Garrett, among them a remake of “The Fool On The Hill,” Celebration: A Musical Journey brings up to date the extraordinary career of Sergio Mendes.